Tennessee, Alabama Republican senators split over vote on federal stopgap funding measure | #republicans | #Alabama | #GOP

NASHVILLE — Tennessee and Alabama Republican U.S. senators split Wednesday night vote on a temporary funding measure aimed at keeping the federal government running and avoiding a shutdown until early January as the Democratic-run Senate and GOP-led House continue to wrangle over their differences.

Sens. Bill Hagerty, R-Tenn., and Katie Britt, R-Ala., who both serve on the Senate Appropriations Committee, voted for the measure that passed on a 87-11 vote.

Sens. Marsha Blackburn, R-Tenn., and Tommy Tuberville, R-Ala., voted no.

Georgia Democrats Raphael Warnock and Jon Ossoff voted for the bill.

(READ MORE: U.S. Sen. Warnock, colleagues urge civil rights review of Tennessee lawmakers’ expulsion)

The measure was fashioned by new House Republican Speaker Mike Johnson of Louisiana to provide additional time to try to resolve differences in the House as well as with Senate Democrats.


Click Here For This Articles Original Source.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *