Early voting starts Monday for Arkansas primary

Early voting in Arkansas for the upcoming primary election begins Monday with three locations open for early voting in Baxter County, according to Canda Reese, Baxter County and Circuit Court Clerk.


click to download audio

Arkansas is one of 44 states and five territories of the United States with early voting. Those favoring early voting cite increased voter turnout and shorter election day lines which allow election officials time to correct voter registration errors and fix system glitches, according to ballotpedia. Opponents believe early voting decreases overall turnout, increases campaign costs and does not allow a voter to change their vote after the ballot is cast.

Early voting in the 2020 Presidential Election doubled from 47% to 94% over the same election in 2016, according to statistics.com. Many attribute the increase in both early in-person and absentee voting to the COVID pandemic. Voting in Baxter County followed that trend, according to Reese who reports a 70.42% voter turnout with 21,114 votes cast of which 15,464 were early and 2,323 absentee. On election day, the numbers were much lower compared to those who voted early.

Early voting ends Monday, May 23 at 5 pm with polls open on Election Day, Tuesday May 24, from 7:30am to 7:30pm. Baxter County residents may cast their ballots at any of the 3 early voting locations and 10 polling sites across the county.

To avoid lines and waits at early voting sites, Reese recommends voting in the afternoon as early mornings are the busiest.


click to download audio

Voters must present a photo ID to vote. The ID could be a state of Arkansas or Federal Government ID, post-secondary education student ID, military ID, concealed carry ID or passport.

Again, early voting begins Monday, May 9, at 8 a.m. and ends Monday, May 23, at 5 p.m. at three locations in Baxter County including the Baxter County Courthouse, 1 East 7th St., Mountain Home; Baxter County Election Commission Headquarters, 213 East 5th Street, Mountain Home; and Twin Lakes Plaza, 769 Hwy. 62, Mountain Home. Hours are Monday through Friday from 8am to 6pm and Saturday from 10am to 4pm.

Baxter County registered voters may cast their ballots Election Day, May 24 from 7:30am to 7:30pm at any voter location including the three early voting locations and 10 polling sites across the county.

Baxter County voters who have questions about their registration and voting districts may call Reese’s office at 870-425-3475. All Arkansas residents can find voter information and check their voter registration online by clicking here.

You can also visit ktlo.com/electioncentral for voting information, where to vote and to see the races in the area and on the state level.

WebReadyTM Powered by WireReady® NSI

Click Here For This Articles Original Source.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *