Celebrating Economic Development Week in Arkansas

May 9 – 13 is Economic Development Week in Arkansas. Governor Asa Hutchinson met with state and local economic developers earlier this month to present the proclamation to Mallory Darby, project manager at West Memphis Economic Development and 2022 president of Arkansas Economic Developers and Chamber Executives (AEDCE).

Economic Development Week was created by the International Economic Development Council (IEDC) in 2016 to increase awareness of local programs that create jobs, advance career development opportunities, and improve the quality of life in communities everywhere. Throughout the week, Economic Development Organizations across the country conduct outreach to highlight the work being done by economic development professionals and to recognize the many facets of economic development.

“Creating a business-friendly climate with lower tax rates, a skilled workforce, and fewer government regulations was a priority for me as Governor,” said Gov. Hutchinson. “This is a great opportunity to celebrate and recognize the professionals and programs who are currently writing the economic development success story in Arkansas.”

Many Arkansas EDOs will celebrate this week with social media promotion, local government proclamations, podcasts, and videos. To locate activities across the nation, search for #EDW2022 or #EconDevWeek on social media platforms.

“Economic Development means more to me than retaining or creating jobs,” said Darby. “It’s about creating sustainable communities that citizens take pride in. It is about transforming families and giving citizens the opportunity to change the trajectory of their families for generations to come.”

Photo courtesy of the Arkansas State Chamber of Commerce. Photo credit: Randall Lee.

Pictured: Governor Hutchinson proclaims Economic Development Week in Arkansas. (First row L to R): Kaitlyn Rigdon, Shelby Fiegel, Danny Games, Governor Asa Hutchinson, Mallory Darby, Shelley Short, Courtney Dunn. (Second row L to R): Jack Pillow, Corey Parks, James Lee Silliman, Katherine Holmstrom, Nancy Lee McNew, Eddie Lee Herndon, Theda Mahoney. (Third row L to R): Jon Chadwell, Randy Zook, James Bell, Stephen Houserman, Olivia Womack, Ben Walters, Chung Tan.

READ ALSO: Economic Development Wins in Arkansas

Click Here For This Articles Original Source.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *