California women’s basketball earns 2022 Pac-12 Sportsmanship Award

SAN FRANCISCO – The Pac-12 Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC) voted to award the California women’s basketball team with the Pac-12 Sportsmanship Award for the 2021-22 season, the conference announced today. Nominated by Oregon State Athletics in collaboration with Oregon State’s SAAC, this year’s honor recognizes the program’s grace, dignity, and participation in allowing the Beavers’ Andrea Aquino, to make an uncontested layup on her Senior Day at Gill Coliseum.

Aquino was the No. 7-rated high school player in the nation when she signed her National Letter of Intent at Oregon State, but prior to her freshman season she was diagnosed with a medical condition and not cleared for competition. Despite being unable to play, Aquino remained an integral part of the Beaver program throughout her four years in Corvallis.

In February, she was recognized in the Senior Day ceremony prior to Oregon State’s game against California. With the Golden Bears’ help, Aquino started the game, won the jump ball and dribbled down the court for an uncontested layup. The Beavers then returned the favor by allowing Cal to score. It was Aquino’s lone appearance and the only basket of her career.

“It meant a lot to me,” Aquino said of the moment after the game. “Listening to Gill go crazy is something I’ll remember for the rest of my life.”

“Throughout her career, Andrea remained active with her team and fulfilled her newfound role, despite it not being the one she initially had in mind,” Oregon State SAAC president Nya Buckner said in a statement. “[On Feb. 20] Gill erupted into cheers as we watched Andrea take the court and put the ball through the hoop. Cal’s demonstration of sportsmanship created an unforgettable moment for Andrea, OSU women’s basketball, and all of Gill Coliseum.”

The Golden Bears’ women’s basketball team is the second consecutive winner of the Pac-12 Sportsmanship Award from California, following the field hockey team’s honor in 2021. Other California student-athletes to receive the award include Michael Capbarat (2008), Anna Key (2006) and Cara Chlebicki (2005).

The Pac-12 Sportsmanship Award is annually selected by members of the Pac-12 Student-Athlete Advisory Council (SAAC) and is based on good sportsmanship and ethical behavior in participation of intercollegiate athletics, as well as a demonstration of good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting.


2022 California women’s basketball
2021 California field hockey
2020 Oregon State women’s basketball
2019 UCLA women’s soccer
2018 Sarah Shimomura, Arizona
2017 Anna Rosen, Washington State
2016 Riley Sorenson, Washington State
2015 UCLA women’s gymnastics
2014 Colorado student-athletes
2013 Kylie Sharp, Washington
2012 Bryson Beirne, Arizona; Brittany Hart, Oregon
2011 Jeff Gudaitis, Washington; Katie Matusik, Arizona
2010 Ben Ashmore, Arizona State; Stanford women’s rowing
2009 Stenn Parton, USC; Lindsey Kelley, Arizona
2008 Michael Capbarat, California; Arianna Lambie, Stanford
2007 Mitch Canham, Oregon State; Jennifer Tangtiphaiboontana, Stanford
2006 Anna Key, California; Eric Nygard, Washington State
2005 Channing Frye, Arizona; Cara Chlebicki, California
2004 Grayling Love, Arizona State

Click Here For This Articles Original Source.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *